A CHANGE FOR LIFE: MY MENTOR’S INSPIRATION

The moment you ask about your life you are philosophizing.  This is what I remember on my philosophy class in college.  Well, I have not asked that question since my life after  college days has a very clear direction.  I entered the religious community and had a wonderful life.  Thirteen years after  I had to say goodbye to this community and found myself with the rest of humanity living a secular life.  At first, I was bewildered by the thought of receiving my salary and the freedom to spend it the way I wanted it. However, I noticed that among my peers we seemed to have common disposition.  This is about waiting for our salary.  Starting on the 10th or 25th of the month, we began to wait anxiously for our 15th or 30th salary.  I thought this was normal to most of us.  To my surprise, this disposition continued when I was already in the administrative position and definitely having a higher salary.  There must be something wrong.  Not only that.  Most of us have no savings.

Then I began asking about life.  Am I in the right place?  Am  I   going for a career change?  How come others are earning higher than us?  I even had my PhD degree and yet this does not translate into making me financially free.  After working for almost 10  years still I don’t own a house.  Something is really wrong or I am just in the wrong place. Then,  I started reading different articles and books and I met this person whom I considered my mentor.
My mentor was a poor missionary.   He worked with the poor and lived like a poor following the footsteps of St. Francis of Assisi, the saint who radically lived a poor life. However, this mentor was a changed man after his marriage.  I began reading his books and articles.  What attracted me most is his being a missionary and yet he is now a millionaire.  I learned that it is possible to be a missionary, which I consider myself as such, and to enjoy financial blessings.  This is a complete turnaround from the religious life I lived before having committed myself to the vows of chastity, obedience and poverty.  My mentor showed me the road to financial freedom.
The first and biggest lesson I learned from my mentor, Bo Sanchez?  MINDSET.  It is about having an excellent mindset without losing my faith in God. It is about being serious of identifying and acting out keys to success . It is not about career change but being excellent in your chosen career. This is the road for a change for life.
What about you?  What is your mindset?  Get a ballpen. Write and answer these questions below:

1.  What is it that bothers you the most nowadays?

2. How happy are you of your chosen career?

3. What do you really want in life?

4. What are the steps you have undertaken to achieve your dreams?
Leave a Reply

